HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
KenH
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:50 am

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by KenH »

wgoodf wrote:
Cheers- the image worked, but as you say Out of Memory errors were pretty common. I can see that this is a bit of a problem without a burned EPROM - limits the use a little bit i would have thought?
i take it from that most folk have a burned imaged then.
hmmm...
Yes, to get the most out of HDBDOS you should run it from ROM.
Rolo's new multicart is a great way to get HDBDOS & Drivewire running (and much more!)
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4807
jedie
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 12:23 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by jedie »

I think it would be good to duplicate the first here into the wiki page: http://archive.worldofdragon.org/index. ... or_dummies isn't it?
... too many ideas and too little time ... Related stuff written in Python:
Dragon 32 emulator / PyDC - Python Dragon 32 converter: https://github.com/jedie/DragonPy
DWLOAD server / Dragon-Lib and other stuff: https://github.com/6809
WilkoUK
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:32 am

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by WilkoUK »

Hi Folks,

I'm having a mare of a time trying to create the hdbdw3dgn32ram.wav file. Can someone point me to a link containing this wav file please? Eternally grateful and all that.

Cheers,
Paul
KenH
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:50 am

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by KenH »

WilkoUK wrote:Hi Folks,

I'm having a mare of a time trying to create the hdbdw3dgn32ram.wav file. Can someone point me to a link containing this wav file please? Eternally grateful and all that.

Cheers,
Paul
Here is the link to dwhdbdos.zip which includes the dw3dgnhdb.wav quick loader. The WAV tape file loads in just a couple of seconds. On EXEC it loads and boots the 8K long HDBDOS via DriveWire in ca 4 seconds.
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4224#p8677
# Play "dw3dgnhdb.wav" through the Dragon tape interface
# Load "hdbboot.dsk" into server disk 0 on the DriveWire server
# (Select CoCo2 57600 settings)

# On the dragon:
# CLEAR 200,&H5DFF
# CLOADM
# EXEC
WilkoUK
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:32 am

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by WilkoUK »

Hello ... Me again!

I've got the Dragon and DW4 working and HDB-DOS loaded. So far so good.
I'm totally confused by the DRIVE command. When I had my old FD Drive year ago you just swapped drives using DRIVE 0, DRIVE 1 etc etc
Now.. am I correct in thinking that When I load a .DSK file into the various drive slots in DW4 that these are the drive numbers I use in the DOS on the Dragon?
ie. Load test.dk into Drive 1 on DW4 and access the drive using DRIVE 1 on the Dragon?

I get a proper directory listing if I eject the Boot Disk from Drive 0 and load test.DSK in its place, but can't access any other the other drives.

What am I doing wrong?
User avatar
tormod
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by tormod »

HDB-DOS can store 255 floppy images on one .dsk file on the server. You use DRIVE#0 .. DRIVE#3 to choose the .dsk file, then DRIVE0 .. DRIVE255 to choose the floppy image on that file.

The DW4 server also has a configuration option for something called "HDBDOS translation mode", and its documentation explains the difference to the normal mode. Unfortunately sourceforge is down at the moment (again) so I can't check the link, but it used to be: http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/d ... HDBDOSMode Anyway, it is not really recommended to use this mode.

Update: Link is now https://sourceforge.net/p/drivewireserv ... hdbdosmode
Last edited by tormod on Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
WilkoUK
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:32 am

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by WilkoUK »

So.. if I understand correctly. I mount a .DSK file into Drive 2 on DW4.
On the Dragon, Switch to DRIVE #2 and select DRIVE 1 to 255 within that .DSK file?
This means that DW4 had 255 "devices" each capable of serving 255 drives?

How I wish I was young again :lol:
User avatar
tormod
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by tormod »

Well, HDB-DOS can only access 4 of these "devices" through DRIVE#0 .. DRIVE#3. And yes, each of those can hold 255 floppy disk images, DRIVE0 .. DRIVE255.

I remember I found all this pretty confusing when I started looking at it, never having used a DOS at all, and trying to figure out what is DriveWire, HDB-DOS, NitrOS-9 etc. Now that I am 2 years older, it seems more obvious. So age seems to be an advantage :)

The DriveWire wiki is back: https://sourceforge.net/p/drivewireserv ... DriveWire/ Note that the inlined graphics are broken, but they can be opened from the attachment list at the top of the page.
KenH
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:50 am

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by KenH »

fridgemagnet
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:33 pm

Re: HDB-DOS for Dragon 32 and 64/Tano

Post by fridgemagnet »

Hi,

I am having a bit of trouble with the cf_dragon.img.7z image posted here last year (year before?). I am assuming the unpacked image (cf_dragon.img) loads straight into drivewire however I can't get a valid directory for any of the virtual disk images held within it (tried the 100-130 range which is supposed to hold the Dragon vdk conversions but all I get back is garbage). Bet I'm doing something stupid here but....

cheers,

jon.
Post Reply