A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
pser1
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by pser1 »

Hi, Ciaran
I have downloaded the Win64 version and have tested it after compiling the DosPlus50 v0.25.16 changing the MPI address
No way to start it correctly. After a long wait, it shows garbage, as this picture
Garbage-TestRACE.jpg
Garbage-TestRACE.jpg (192.77 KiB) Viewed 1156 times
No matter what DOs version I use the result is always the same
I have used ddos10, ddos42, dosplus49b
The bat file to start it is like that

Code: Select all

cd..
rem copy ..\XRoar\DOS-ROMs\DP50RACE.rom mydos.rom
copy ..\XRoar\DOS-ROMs\ddos10.rom mydos.rom
copy ..\XRoar\ROMs\d64rom1V31.rom d64_1.rom
copy ..\XRoar\ROMs\d64rom2V31.rom d64_2.rom
xroar -machine dragon64 -machine-cpu 6309 -extbas d64_1.rom -altbas d64_2.rom -cart dragondos -cart-rom mydos.rom -cart mpi-race -mpi-load-cart 0=dragondos
rem del *.rom
Do you see anything wrong on the bat file?
thanks in advance
pere
sixxie
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by sixxie »

pser1 wrote: Mon Jul 26, 2021 6:37 pm Do you see anything wrong on the bat file?
That's quite odd... I've tried running the same command under Wine and it runs fine - the only difference is, are those modified BASIC ROMs?
pser1
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by pser1 »

well, they work without issues in the other config cases, but I will try to use the std ones ...

cheers!
pere
pser1
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by pser1 »

Hi, Ciaran
this is the last test I have done, but same result. Maybe a bit faster to show garbage ...

Code: Select all

cd..
copy ..\XRoar\DOS-ROMs\ddos10.rom mydos.rom
copy ..\XRoar\ROMs\d64rom1.rom d64_1.rom
copy ..\XRoar\ROMs\d64rom2.rom d64_2.rom
xroar -machine dragon64 -extbas d64_1.rom -altbas d64_2.rom -cart dragondos -cart-rom mydos.rom -cart mpi-race -mpi-load-cart 0=dragondos
Any hint/suggestion?
Should I test Windows32 instead?
cheers!
pere
sixxie
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by sixxie »

I'll try and dig out a Windows laptop tomorrow and see how things work for me :)
pser1
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by pser1 »

Hi,
a minimum test with almost no params:

Code: Select all

xroar -machine dragon64 -machine-cpu 6309 -extbas d64_1.rom -altbas d64_2.rom -cart mpi-race
Now the garbage is perfectly aligned vertically, but no way to start the Basic, just because of the very last param (-cart mpi-race)
cheers!
pere
pser1
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by pser1 »

Hi, Ciaran
disregard my previous messages. My fault :-(
I was calling the *old* XRoar version, sorry ...
The new one starts Basic and then the DOS, so this is a starting point to change the Dragon Data DOS
for the DOSPlus5.0 extended and see what happens ...
Will let you know
cheers!
pere
pser1
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by pser1 »

already done the first test.
DP50E starts after Basic and then waits for some seconds to end showing the correct messages
I used Ctrl+1 to put disk in drive 1 and then
DIR1 worked alright showing its contents ...
Sorry for having bugged you that way :-(
thanks a lot
cheers!
pere
TestingRace-XRoar.jpg
TestingRace-XRoar.jpg (72.66 KiB) Viewed 1137 times
sixxie
Posts: 1195
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by sixxie »

Oh cool, glad it's working. Do you do anything fancy with multiple cartridges?
pser1
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: A DOSPlus Extender for Drivewire & CoCo-SDC

Post by pser1 »

Hi, Ciaran
by now just having problems. Hope to find a way to sort them out ...
I have the DOSPLus50E in slot 3 and Orchestra-90 in slot 0
and I can easily choose which to start with the last parameter
-mpi-slot N
That way I can start the DOS or the Orchestra, but still trying to remember the procedure to read a disk from the floppy
to load orchestra scores ...
And still haven't found a way to start Orchestra after having started the DP50 and loaded a disk. I shoud change to slot 0 that has
the autostarting ROM version ... I need to do more creative tests ;-)
I asume that, in order to change slots, correct is POKE&HFEFF,number instead of POKE&HFF7F,number
cheers!
pere
Post Reply