Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

For the discussion of all hardware related topics.
pser1
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by pser1 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:09 pm

Hello John,
thanks for sharing it ...
I have been working on the test game Foggy so that now I am able to draw the pannel surrounding the play area
and can also give colour to a sprite and the key, just how they show on the original game.
This is almost the end for testing purposes. Now I need time to analyze seriously how to convert the AGD engine
to this little monster: Dragon-6309-MSX2+ and then decide if I dare to begin (and finish) that project ;-)
Will keep in touch.
On the other side I have three more image converter programs to test. I have downoaded them, so I should devote
some time to convert the eight test images in order to discover which is the best converter on all the resolutions
I have been using.
And now, here you are a video showing this very last version and two screenshots too.
cheers
pere
SpritesObjectsPannel.zip
(13.92 MiB) Downloaded 28 times
imagen01.jpg
imagen01.jpg (71.34 KiB) Viewed 800 times
imagen02.jpg
imagen02.jpg (71.81 KiB) Viewed 800 times

Pernod70
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, UK

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by Pernod70 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:29 pm

Does the Wordpak2+ need emulating? Could someone post some floppy images to test with?

pser1
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by pser1 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 2:49 pm

Pernod70 wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 1:29 pm
Does the Wordpak2+ need emulating? Could someone post some floppy images to test with?
Hello,
the Wordpak2+ is a video module that uses the V9958 chip (MSX2+) with 128k VRAM
It has a lot of modes to work. Two of them for text and then a lot of graphic modes that use
from 256x212 @16/256 colours
I am using the HD6309 CPU to have a bit more speed along the game.
What will you need in order to add this module to MAME?
I have the datasheets for the V9938 and V9958 and could send an VDK with the last version of this Foggys Quest demo
cheers
pere

Pernod70
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, UK

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by Pernod70 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:15 pm

pser1 wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 2:49 pm
What will you need in order to add this module to MAME?
Just some test cases. The V9958 is already emulated for use in the MSX2, so it's just a case of adding a new Workpak2+ device and mapping the V9958.

pser1
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by pser1 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:40 pm

alright,
I will search among my PC folders and will put together some programs that show some colours on the screen
I will add one with the Foggy demo too.
The V9958 is using these ports
$ff78 - port#0 data
$ff79 - port#1 config
$ff7a - port#2 palette
$ff7b - port#3 indirect addressing
The module has just the 128k VRAM, it has not the extra expansion of 64k
cheers
pere

pser1
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by pser1 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 4:47 pm

Hello,
I attach here a zip containing 4 VDK files:
- FONTDEMO file that will install drivers to work at 40/80 columns in Basic/DOS mode
and then will load some awkward fonts just to test it is possible :-(
- FONTS should be mounted in drive 2 to be read by previous disk programs
- FOGDEMO contains an executable that should show the first game screen and let sprites move ... (not Foggy!)
- WPAK2 contains a basic program that calls some machine code programs that show the
colours combinations possible on mode G7 (screen 8)
Any problem that could arise, just let me know ...
Thanks a lot!
pere
WP2P.ZIP
(69.07 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

Pernod70
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, UK

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by Pernod70 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:55 pm

pser1 wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 4:47 pm
I attach here a zip containing 4 VDK files
Thanks, I've implemented that WordPak2+ but annoyingly I now need to modify the CoCo Multi-Pak for use with the Dragon so that I can also insert a DOS cartridge. Not a problem, just won't make it in time for the release in a few days.

User avatar
Bosco
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:49 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by Bosco » Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:19 pm

Cool news about WordPak2+ emulation.

Looking forward to having a play with this myself. :D

bluearcus
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 4:45 pm

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by bluearcus » Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:18 pm

Yeah, Wordpak 2+ and multipak emulation for the Dragon in Mame will be nice wins. Thanks Pernod!

pser1
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: Using the Wordpak2+ on the Dragon

Post by pser1 » Fri Apr 17, 2020 3:12 pm

hello,
stepping forward on this project ...
Right now I am working on the subroutines used to show text on the screen background
To test as much as possible, I have chosen the intro screen for Foggy's Quest, I attach here an image
Not so easy as I would have expected, so I need to rework some 'engine' parts
cheers
pere
V9958-Text.jpg
V9958-Text.jpg (115.45 KiB) Viewed 482 times

Post Reply