Help repairing Dragon 64

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
llopis

Help repairing Dragon 64

Post by llopis »

Hello,

I'm very new to Dragons, but I bought a Dragon 64 recently to continue exploring 8-bit computers. As I kind of expected, untested turned into "not working". The good news is I'm fairly experienced repairing other 8 bit computers (Amstrad CPCs, Spectrum). The bad news is, I don't know much about the Dragon itself.

The symptoms is that I get a green screen with a black border around it. No text or prompt on the screen of any kind.

So I opened it up and it's clean and pristine, including the warranty sticker over one of the screws, so I'm clearly the first one opening it. The CPU is the hottest chip (borderline OK to leave my finger on it) and the second hottest is the SN74LS783N (is that some kind of memory support chip?). None of the RAM ICs are more than just luke warm.

It has correct voltages everywhere. I looked with a scope and I see mostly normal behavior: clock signals, CAS, RAS signals, data bus activity, address activity, etc. The only weird thing I saw was Dout on all the RAM ICs has the normal pulses, but also has some weird 2V curved signals (like a capacitor charging). I'd never seen anything like that in other computers (even ones using the same 4164 DRAM).

So my question is, what would you recommend as a next test I can perform to narrow down where the problem might be coming from? Anything to measure? Some ROMs to burn and use that help me diagnose the system?

Thank you!
jltursan

Re: Help repairing Dragon 64

Post by jltursan »

Two common failures I've found in Dragons are broken CPUs and some kind of weird crystalized deposits over a vertical variable resistance.

Both usually causes garbage screens but that green with black border doesn't rings a bell...
llopis

Post by llopis »