Dragon32 Newbie - Few technical / setup questions

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
goobler

Dragon32 Newbie - Few technical / setup questions

Post by goobler »

Hi all, just joined today as I have got my first Dragon! I have never used one before so am slightly lost but learning quick!

This is a Dragon32 that I have connected using the coaxial cable to a CRT TV, the picture is pretty poor and does not have any sound, anyone have any ideas what I should be checking to try and resolve, the poor picture I can live with but the lack of sound is more what I am trying to fix.

Also, whenever I play a game from cartridge, the controls always seems to stick to bottom right diagonal. So my character in the game automatically walks bottom right whatever I do, this happens with any of the 3 cartridges I have.

I have seen a diagnostic ROM file but wondered is there anything like this I can load up from a converted .cas file to test the hardware?

Hope you Dragon masters can help a newbie out!
robcfg

Re: Dragon32 Newbie - Few technical / setup questions

Post by robcfg »

The poor picture through the coaxial cable is absolutely normal.

Also, depending on your motherboard version, you can have a patch for better video quality or not.

I'd just buy or build a monitor cable to output composite video to the TV which will improve the video quality.

The sound issue may come through a damaged PIA chip or a damaged modulator. If it's the modulator, you can get sound from the monitor port so maybe buying or building the monitor cable would be a good idea,

Which game cartridges do you have? Do you have any tape games or a tape cable (which you can use to load wav files directly into your Dragon)? And, can you take a picture of the circuit boards inside your Dragon?

Cheers,
Rob
goobler

Post by goobler »

Thanks for taking the time to reply :)