I've broken Xroar on my Mac ...

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
Post Reply
tjewell
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:58 pm
Location: Cambridge, England

I've broken Xroar on my Mac ...

Post by tjewell » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:05 pm

Hi all - and a Happy New Year! ...

Well, I've had the wonderful Xroar running perfectly on my Mac for ages, using Ciaran's precompiled 0.32 version. I recently downloaded the source for 0.33.2 so I could apply Tormod's nx-32 patches, and that compiled and ran just fine - or so I thought.

Both versions are now exhibiting the same bug - when I use the file menu (or command-L) to load a file, the emulator appears to freeze (cursor stops flashing, no input is echoed on the screen) after the file dialog closes. It doesn't matter what I load - or even if I load anything at all (just clicking cancel is enough to make this happen).

I'm presuming that I've mucked up SDL somewhere. I did a 'brew install sdl' as per the instructions, and have version v1.2.15. If I run 'xroar -debug-ui -1', then I can see the keyboard inputs into SDL, even after I've done a load and the emulator has 'frozen'.

A load via the command line still works perfectly.

Any thoughts much appreciated!

Tony

sixxie
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: I've broken Xroar on my Mac ...

Post by sixxie » Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:16 pm

Sounds weird. I don't have a mac to test this on any more (well I do - an old PowerPC one - but it's hidden somewhere since moving house - and it's running 10.4, so unlikely to prove anything). Is it just video that freezes? eg, if you type "SOUND 1,1" blind, is it still doing stuff?

tjewell
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:58 pm
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: I've broken Xroar on my Mac ...

Post by tjewell » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:30 pm

Ah, a good test - yes, the video has stopped, it still makes sounds.

sixxie
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: I've broken Xroar on my Mac ...

Post by sixxie » Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:52 pm

Well, I've no way to test this, but you could try getting it to force reinitialise the SDL window each time it fires up a modal dialogue box. Kludge alert! In src/macosx/filereq_cocoa.m, add this towards the beginning:

Code: Select all

#include "xroar.h"
Then this line before the "return" in both load_filename and save_filename:

Code: Select all

xroar_set_fullscreen(0, video_module->is_fullscreen);

tjewell
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 4:58 pm
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: I've broken Xroar on my Mac ...

Post by tjewell » Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:54 am

Thanks for the kludge - alas, that didn't seem to fix it, but my workaround here has. I noticed that if I do command-F twice (fullscreen and back), I get the screen back. And now, in one of those mysterious 'honestly, I didn't dream this bug' moments, the problem just seems to have disappeared. So now I can't even replicate the issue - let's hope it's gone for good. Many thanks for your help, Sixxie!

Post Reply