File2VDK anyone?

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
User avatar
utz
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:49 pm
Location: Absurdistan
Contact:

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by utz » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:55 pm

Ah, well then this could be done with a simple batch/shell command.

For Windows .bat, I believe this should do it:

Code: Select all

copy /b /y header.bin+%1 %1.vdk > nul
resp for .sh

Code: Select all

cat header.bin $1 > $1.vdk
header.bin is attached.

However, there's one problem: It seems file2dsk spits out 35 track images, but VDKs are 40 tracks?
Attachments
header.zip
(185 Bytes) Downloaded 66 times

KenH
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:50 am

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by KenH » Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:42 pm

As a side note, if you're using Pere's DOS Extender or Tormod's DWLOAD ROM you can use the DLOAD / DWLOAD command to load and run .BIN and .BAS files directly on your Dragon without the need to go through a VDK file.

pser1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by pser1 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:53 pm

Hi,
file2dsk is a program to create CoCo discs 35 tracks instead of 40.
I think it would be better to use Rolf Michelsen's program DragonTools
You will just need a clean disc to begin with.

cheers
pere

User avatar
utz
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:49 pm
Location: Absurdistan
Contact:

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by utz » Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:20 pm

If I understand correctly DragonTools is Windows only though. So it's no use to me.

User avatar
Bosco
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:49 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by Bosco » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:44 pm

Had a play with Rolf's Dragon Tools. Works great! :)

If you could drag files onto it, it'd be amazing! :lol:

User avatar
rolfmichelsen
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:43 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by rolfmichelsen » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:29 pm

Bosco wrote:Had a play with Rolf's Dragon Tools. Works great! :)

If you could drag files onto it, it'd be amazing! :lol:
I'm planning to fix that this weekend. Hope to get some time for recreational programming then :-)

-- Rolf

User avatar
Bosco
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:49 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by Bosco » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:39 pm

I'm planning to fix that this weekend. Hope to get some time for recreational programming then
That would be awesome! :D

User avatar
rolfmichelsen
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:43 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by rolfmichelsen » Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:55 pm

Finally got some time to put together a File2VDK utility based on the DragonTools project. I'm attaching a pre-release to this post. Simply run file2vdk.exe with the files you want stored on a new VDK diskette as command line arguments. The VDK disk image will take it's name from the first filename. A proper release with a bit more error handling will arrive someday... Let me know if you have questions.

-- Rolf

Edit: This program doesn't support dragging files onto it. Will be fixed shortly...
Attachments
DragonTools-snapshot-gd683d81.zip
(77.15 KiB) Downloaded 74 times

User avatar
Bosco
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:49 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by Bosco » Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:30 pm

Hi Rolf.

Just been playing with File2VDK (from the command line). Appears to work perfectly however when I try to load a binary into XRoar (RUN"<name>.BIN") from the generated vdk I get an `?FM ERROR'.

The bin I'm testing with was output from LWASM in DECB binary format.

User avatar
tormod
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: File2VDK anyone?

Post by tormod » Mon Sep 28, 2015 7:55 pm

Bosco, unless Fil2VDK translates DECB binaries into Dragon DOS binaries, this won't work because the RUN command is a Dragon DOS command that will load and run only a file in Dragon DOS format.

Anyway, you are well aware that XRoar can load a DECB binary straight into memory without using DOS and disk images, right?

Post Reply