Hello

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
admin
Site Admin

Hello

Post by admin »

Hi Folks

Let me tell you a little story...

I've been involved in the computer industry for MANY years - I started out messing about with PDP-8s when I was 13 and still in school (some 40 years ago now!).

At some point after kicking around university doing whatever seemed shiny at the time I had a brush with the computer games industry in the form of an outfit called Melbourne House (I think it was actually Beam Software who signed my cheques, but its a loooong time ago so I'm nor sure). Whilst there I did a rewrite of Hungry Horace for the Dragon.

Fast forward to last Friday when I'm sitting in the board room of a company who have just employed me (I've been a computer consultant of various flavours for many years now) having a few beers and trading stories about what we did when we were young and silly... Anyway, I tell the story of Hungry Horrace and the MD idly taps out a Google search on the computer that we have just been reviewing presentations on: up come various games nostalgia pages about Hungry Horace and after a few more clicks I'm looking at a screen dump of a title page with my name on it! What a hoot! I had never imagined that anyone would recall this game, let alone have screen dumps and cassette images!

I'm not so sure its work I would be proud of so many years later (I can remember a huge dramatic rush getting in a final assembler run just moments before the courier pickup of the cassette master to be sent to the duplicators in the UK) but I guess everyone was young once!

So I'm sure you know what I'd like to ask: in the first instance can anyone tell me if HH works on an emulator and, if so, what emulator is "best" for me to try out. I guess I'd also be interested in exploring whether anyone has a working Dragon they may be willing to part with and ship to far off Australia!

Cheers, Dieter.
Simon Hardy