XRoar 0.36 released

A place to discuss everything Dragon related that doesn't fall into the other categories.
pser1
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by pser1 »

Hello Ciaran,
I have downloaded the file "m6809-gdb.exe" from "index of /temp/xroar", and the last XRoar snapshot (110), I hope this is all I'd need
I will test it this afternoon. I need to make a long trace/debug session on my music engine conversion from MSX-AGD code.
I will let you know how it goes ...
Thanks a lot!
pere
pser1
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by pser1 »

sixxie wrote: Sun Jun 14, 2020 9:20 am I've had a look and this turns out to be a fault in my GDB patch - none of the 6309 registers were flagged as 8-bit, so the results were misaligned.
Now, can I remember how to build the Windows binaries of GDB? :)
Edit: and the answer is "maybe". ISTR the way the binary is built affected how well it interacted with the Windows console... Can you give this one a try?
Hello Ciaran,
I have just updated both XRoar and GDB and now the 'old' bat I was using to start a debug session gets some error messages:

Code: Select all

start xroar -gdb -machine dragon64 -machine-cpu 6309 -extbas d64_1.rom -altbas d64_2.rom -machine-cart dragondos 
-cart-rom ddos40.rom -force-crc-match -disk-write-back -joy-left 0,0:1:0 -kbd-translate -lp-file ..\XRoar\sortida.txt
m6809-gdb -ex "layout asm" -ex "layout regs" -ex "winheight regs -7" --eval-command="target remote localhost:65520"
This GDB was configured as "--host=i686-w64-mingw32 --target=m6809".
Undefined command: "layout". Try "help".
Undefined command: "layout". Try "help".
Undefined command: "winheight". Try "help".
Remote debugging using localhost:65520
0x0000bbca in ?? ()

Reducing the command so that there are no -ex commands, the output is
d:\XRoar-v036>m6809-gdb --eval-command="target remote localhost:65520"
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.6.2.20140108-cvs
This GDB was configured as "--host=i686-w64-mingw32 --target=m6809".
Remote debugging using localhost:65520
0x0000bbca in ?? ()

So the last line is always the same ...
Any hint?
thanks a lot
pere
.mad.
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:22 pm
Location: Born in the North

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by .mad. »

Is it possible to fine tune the analog control settings?.

There seems to be a difference between MAME's centre and XROAR's.
1 char down, 1 char right.
This problem setting could be down to one game.

Dragon Fly II

this game requires you to centre the joystick and allign the flashing dots.
Xroar automatically passes the config screen at the test, but MAME does not.
so you would think Xroar has the correct values...

however i notice that in Lucifer's Kingdom (Orange Software).
The space ship floats diagonally up the screen in the joystick deafult position in Xroar.
And in MAME the ship stays centred and true.

so i think the default settings in Dragon Fly II are the real problem.
I am, you are, we are, they're not...
sixxie
Posts: 1346
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by sixxie »

Is this using joystick emulation through keyboard?

XRoar returns to just left of centre when released from pushing left, and to just right of centre when released from pushing right (and similar on the Y axis). I guess MAME always returns to a single position (offset to the right and bottom).

What works well in one game doesn't so well in another - I know what you mean about LK, that's quite irritating. But play Shock Trooper or Buzzard Bait, and you'll find XRoar's behaviour better...

Probably another thing that would be better as an option :)

..ciaran
sixxie
Posts: 1346
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by sixxie »

pser1 wrote: Sun Jun 14, 2020 2:08 pm I have just updated both XRoar and GDB and now the 'old' bat I was using to start a debug session gets some error messages
Aha, looks like I linked it with PDCurses before... Ok, I've tried doing that again - how's it look?
pser1
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by pser1 »

Hello Ciaran,
now it works.
If I enter set $e=0x43 and then set $f=0x21, both registers are updated on screen, great!
But if I do enter set $w=0x9876 then nothing changes on screen, so it seems that the EF pair is interpreted *only* as
individual registers, but not as a double register, as AB is considered double reg. D
In fact entering set $d=0x1f01 does not change anything on the screen, but I know it works when tracing a program.
So I will trace the music engine and will see what happens when EF are used as a 16 bit register.
Thanks a lot.
cheers
pere
sixxie
Posts: 1346
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 am
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by sixxie »

I think there was probably an issue with setting those 6309 registers... were you by any chance not getting the behaviour you were expecting? I've pushed another XRoar snapshot with what I tihnk is a fix for that.

I don't yet know how to make GDB know that D aliases A & B, etc. Documentation of its internals is sparse from what I've seen so far.
pser1
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by pser1 »

don't worry about that, Ciaran.
Seeing A, B, E F is good enogh as I am sure they are updated when the program loads the 16 bit registers.
Anyway I will verify that point ...
I am sorry I have not been able (no free time :-( ) to make a longer test.
I hope I will later tonight
I will download your last version and give it a long try!
thanks a lot
pere
pser1
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by pser1 »

Hi, Ciaran
I have had time enough to test untill a point where regW receives the contents of regD and registers EF have been correctly
updated on screen, great :D
I have saved a snapshot. I hope I will be able to start next time from this point on.
Thanks a lot for your help!
cheers
pere
pser1
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:32 pm
Location: Barcelona (SPAIN)

Re: XRoar 0.36 released

Post by pser1 »

@Ciaran
Today I have loaded the snapshot I save yesterday and then GDB refused to start the session (connection).
If I do start XRoar without the snapshot, then GDB starts with no issues, but as soon as I do load the snapshot
GDB doesn't accept any command :-(
What am I doing wrong?
Is there any other way to save/load snapshots?
Thanks in advance
pere
Post Reply