Hello from Norfolk!

A forum for members to discuss this site, offer suggestions for improvement etc.
homeschooldragon

Hello from Norfolk!

Post by homeschooldragon »

Hi all,

I just want to introduce myself, say hello, and explain what we have been doing recently on the Dragon.

Like many of you on the board, I expect you grew up with the Dragon, I remember bringing ours home in around 1983 (aged 9 or 10) and was immediately hooked. Like many of you too, we did not have parents that could program, or had interest, so we are self taught.

After maybe 20 years of the Dragon being stored in its box, moved from house to house and pushed from pillar to post like Yesterdays Jam* I fired it up and it worked beautifully for the first time. It was like meeting an old friend, and we carried on where we left off.

I got the Dragon out because we have taken our eldest daughter out of the state school system and are education her at home. I work for myself, and will be responsible for teaching computer skills. What better place to start that journey than programming BASIC on the Dragon?!

There is a little write up here: http://homeschooljournal.co.uk/2015/11/ ... dragon-32/ if you are interested.

Anyway, hello forum members :-)

* 10 points if you can tell me where that Yesterdays Jam phrase comes from. No searching!
10 CLS
20 PRINT "HELLO"
30 GOTO 20
robcfg

Re: Hello from Norfolk!

Post by robcfg »

Welcome to the forum!

Yesterday's jam comes from the first episode of the IT Crowd, if I'm not mistaken, hehe :mrgreen:

Enjoy your stay here!
sorchard

Post by sorchard »

Yes, welcome to the forum!

Your experience strikes a chord as I feel a lot of the skills I use in my job are self taught and started in some way with the Dragon.