Moving to Dragon world

A forum for members to discuss this site, offer suggestions for improvement etc.
retrocanada76

Moving to Dragon world

Post by retrocanada76 »

Hi all,

I just got a brand new Dragon 64 by Tano and now I'm on dragon scene :) It's just so beautiful!

Some of you guys knows my superide package and tools. I am an active coco developer.

Right now I need to find a way to transter disks to the dragon as I don't have an old pc (and I don't want to have one!). I've contacted lafuentes for the FDC.

I don't want to turn my dragon into a coco as I have a stack of cocos in my basement but only one dragon :)

I'm thinking maybe I can do it using a rawcopy on os-9 using my cocos and the superIDE. I copy the VDK image without the header and make a raw copy sector by sectors only writing the LSN0 at the very end. That should work right ?

Ultimately I could do a tape to dsk tool but that will give so much work on PC and Dragon.

Thanks for all,

Felipe.
robcfg

Re: Moving to Dragon world

Post by robcfg »

Hi Felipe,

Welcome to the archive!

If you have a newer pc with a floppy drive, you can use the CoCoDSK program (i think that was the name, but not sure) to write images to disk.

The program writes dsk images, so you need to remove the first 12-16 bytes of a vdk file and you'll be able to write them.

I can tell you the right procedure during the weekend.

Regards,
Rob
tormod

Post by tormod »

Welcome to the Dragon club ;)

For your disk questions I don't think I can help much. What is it that you want to transfer from and to? From disk images on a PC? To a standard(?) 3.5" floppy drive through the Lafumat FDC?

I think dantyr asked about something similar here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2779&start=10#p6831 but don't know what he found out.

Cheers,
Tormod
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »