Hi! & sick dragon advice

A forum for members to discuss this site, offer suggestions for improvement etc.
Post Reply
grobda
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:04 pm

Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by grobda »

Hello all

Im a retrogamer and have accumulated a few systems over the years. I've got a couple of dragons and have recently dusted them off, built a video cable and joystick, and got some software running on one of them.

One's poorly (I suspect a RAM chip) anyone know if theres any diagnostic programs out there? it will boot up and load programs but attempting to run one results in a screen of garbage. Ruled out the software and psu by testing on the working dragon. Voltage supply from the power board to mainboard is spot on.

I know 4116 RAMS are prone to fail from working on williams arcade PCBs (joust & defender are two i own) i have spare rams but theres nothing to indicate the fault - if it is indeed ram.

cheers, hope to be able to contribute to the forums - i may get the probe and scope out and see where that gets me.
munkeyboy
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:56 am
Location: South Wales

Re: Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by munkeyboy »

Hello and welcome,

Programmers Utilities by Microdeal includes a RAM test program. The downloads section of the archive has a cas file but I will also include the wav file of just the RAM test program here. I hope this is of some help.
RAM test.zip
(33 KiB) Downloaded 425 times
Attachments
RAM TEST.jpg
RAM TEST.jpg (29.22 KiB) Viewed 6966 times
grobda
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:04 pm

Re: Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by grobda »

** triple post due to lost in moderation
Last edited by grobda on Fri May 17, 2013 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
grobda
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:04 pm

Re: Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by grobda »

*** triple post due to lost in moderation
Last edited by grobda on Fri May 17, 2013 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
grobda
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 2:04 pm

Re: Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by grobda »

Thanks for that. Sick dragon wouldn't even load it. (Worked fine on other dragon).

Weird thing is it has loaded basic programs that were bigger than the ram test.

It would also load the hunchback title screen, presumably thats just being fed to video RAM;

Image

had a good play with the well dragon, donkey king is hard as nails :o
User avatar
tormod
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:06 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by tormod »

I was going to suggest that you load the RAMTEST program at another location, since you might hit exactly the bad RAM when you load it, and the BASIC programs you have tried might load somewhere else. But then I tested it myself in xroar and saw that it was not relocatable.

Since I also was curious to how it tests the RAM, I disassembled the program completely. In fact the program is not overly sophisticated. The RAM test itself will for every byte write one bit and shift this bit through all 8 bits, reading back for control at each step.

Then I converted the program to position-independent code, so that it can be loaded and run from any RAM location. So please try the ramtest.wav in the attached zip file (which also includes the source codes). The RAMTEST 30 years anniversary edition :)

From the included README file:

The RAMTEST program checks the whole RAM except the location
of its own code. Run it twice from different locations in
order to check all RAM. The code is only ~400 bytes long, so
the offsets must only differ by this amount to cover the whole
RAM.

The code can be loaded at different location using the offset
parameter of CLOADM. For instance, to load and run from address
1536 (graphics memory page 1) and 2560 (one 1K away):

Code: Select all

CLOADM "", 1536
EXEC

CLOADM "", 2560
EXEC
Note that an offset is always needed! The default loading address
of the file is set to 0 for simplicity, and this address can not
be used since it will clobber the BASIC system variables.

To load it somewhere completely safe from BASIC, reserve space
above BASIC using the CLEAR command, and load it there:

Code: Select all

CLEAR 200, 30000
CLOADM "", 30001
EXEC
Attachments
ramtest.zip
RAMTEST 2013 (source, CAS, WAV)
(5.5 KiB) Downloaded 336 times
Last edited by tormod on Sun May 19, 2013 11:30 am, edited 3 times in total.
Alastair
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:33 pm

Re: Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by Alastair »

Grobda, in addition to Tormod's modified RAM test, what happens when you type in, LIST, then run the following program (keep pressing any key until the program ends) on your faulty Dragon? If any of this fails, where does it fail?

Code: Select all

10 FOR X=0 TO 4
20 PMODE X
30 FOR Y=0 TO 1
40 SCREEN 1,Y
50 IF INKEY$="" THEN 50
60 NEXT
70 NEXT
80 END
zephyr
Posts: 1474
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 1:18 am

Re: Hi! & sick dragon advice

Post by zephyr »

Is PRINT MEM returning the usual 24871 bytes free?
Post Reply